CoP Workautomation

Business Process Management

Business processes are the DNA of every company: a business process coordinates the behaviour of people, systems, and information to produce business outcomes in support of a business strategy. Processes are really everywhere. A successful digital transformation requires digital process automation. Companies start this journey for many reasons: existing processes might be too inefficient, too slow or very often simply not flexible enough to support new business models.

BPM (Business Process Management) is a discipline that uses various methods to discover, model, analyse, measure, improve and optimize business processes.

  • Process automation helps organisations to increase their productivity, to bring more flexibility and to maximise traceability and auditability (compliance).
  • It provides a structured and unique point for human interactions and reduces errors.
  • BPM is key to align IT investments to business strategy.

What are the key concepts of BPM?

The collaboration of business stakeholders and IT professionals is crucial for the success of modern enterprises. Business stakeholders understand the market, the business value delivered by the company and the strategy. They can channel all of that into requirements, features and priorities. On the other hand, IT is aware of technical constraints, existing applications and organization.

From the business perspective, the Business Process Model reacts to a business events and produces a business outcome, after having followed a number of activities that involve humans and systems.

From the IT perspective, the Business Process Model will be the execution model followed at runtime and it will call different services in order to interact with IT applications. This delegation can rely on microservices, IoT components and robotic processing automation (RPA).

Core capabilities provided by a BPM engine

In order to automate business process execution, companies rely on a BPM solution which provides a core component: the BPM engine.

The BPM engine will manage the full lifecycle of all the process instances initiated from a Business Process Model. As we can have long running process instances (from hours to years), the BPM engine has to provide three main capabilities: persistence, scheduling and versioning.

Persistence:

the engine stores the current state of all the running process instances and keeps track on all the executed activities (who did what and when).

Scheduling:

the Business Process Model can include event throwing mechanisms in order to implement all time and duration characteristics of the process (legal delay, notifications, …). Therefore, there must be a scheduling feature that allows the BPM engine to become active whenever something needs to be done.

Versioning:

each process instance has been started at a certain time but after that, updates can be deployed on the model. Then, we have to answer the following question: how to handle “old” process instances regarding newer versions of the model. Many BPM engines propose a versioning mechanism and some tooling to help in process instance migration.

Business Process Model

What additional capabilities are usually needed?

In order to leverage the full potential of process automation, we consider that some others topics need to be addressed, as depicted in the following picture:

Business user interaction

As many processes will involve end users through human tasks, it’s crucial to have a single point of reference for tasks management (what activities can be claimed, by who depending on the roles associated within each user). If most of the BPM solutions propose a standard application for tasklist management, most of the customers want to have a dedicated frontend application where other functions can be embedded (access to documents in an ECM solution for example).

Business monitoring

In order to have a global view on all the running process instances but also to analyze globally how efficient the process automation is, you need to have a place where all the metrics related to these executions can be aggregated in dashboards and reports. This is the place where we will typically compute KPIs (Key Performance Indicators).

IT monitoring

Operations need to have a tool to have all the relevant information in case of technical problems. After receiving an alert about a specific issue (a call to a backend service failed, for instance), the tool needs to support root cause analysis to understand the problem and then, finally, fixing the issue.

Our technology partners

We have strong partnerships with the main solution editors in the BPM area:

Why we are your BPM partner

We have built BPM expertise through successful projects and are masters in delivering innovative BPM projects from business to technology. We can provide:

  • Business analyst expertise in order to gather business requirements and capture the process structure through a best-of-the-art modelling.
  • Process automation delivery through a strong partnership with main actors in the BPM area.
Do you have any questions?

Jean-François Gonguet, Head of CoP Workautomation, looks forward to your contact!
Phone +41 58 520 98 00

adesso
Reading tip

Explore a preview version of the book "Practical Process Automation" by the Co-Founder and Chief Technologist of Camunda, Bernd Ruecker, right now.

Read more

  • adesso.ch
  • Impulses
  • Business Process Management

Save this page. Remove this page.

CoP Workautomation

Business Process Management

Les processus métier sont l’ADN de chaque entreprise : un processus métier coordonne le comportement des personnes, des systèmes et des informations pour produire des résultats commerciaux à l’appui d’une stratégie commerciale. Les processus sont vraiment partout. Une transformation numérique réussie nécessite l’automatisation des processus numériques. Les entreprises s’engagent dans cette voie pour de nombreuses raisons : les processus existants peuvent être trop inefficaces, trop lents ou, très souvent, tout simplement pas assez flexibles pour soutenir de nouveaux modèles commerciaux.

Le BPM (Business Process Management) est une discipline qui utilise diverses méthodes pour découvrir, modéliser, analyser, mesurer, améliorer et optimiser les processus métier.

  • L’automatisation des processus aide les entreprises à accroître leur productivité, à apporter plus de flexibilité et à maximiser la traçabilité et l’auditabilité (conformité).
  • Elle fournit un point structuré et unique pour les interactions humaines et réduit les erreurs.
  • Le BPM est essentiel pour aligner les investissements informatiques sur la stratégie commerciale.

QUELS SONT LES CONCEPTS CLÉS DU BPM?

La collaboration des acteurs métier et des professionnels de l’informatique est cruciale pour garantir le succès des entreprises modernes. Les acteurs économiques comprennent le marché, la valeur commerciale apportée par l’entreprise et la stratégie. Ils peuvent traduire tout cela en exigences, caractéristiques et priorités. D’autre part, le service informatique est conscient des contraintes techniques, des applications existantes et de l’organisation.

Du point de vue commercial, le modèle de processus métier réagit à un événement commercial et produit un résultat commercial après avoir suivi un certain nombre d’activités impliquant des humains et des systèmes.

Du point de vue informatique, le modèle de processus métier sera le modèle suivi au moment de l’exécution et il fera appel à différents services afin d’interagir avec les applications informatiques. Cette délégation peut s’appuyer sur des microservices, des composants IoT et l’automatisation robotisée des processus (Robotic Processing Automation).

FONCTIONNALITÉS DE BASE FOURNIES PAR UN MOTEUR BPM

Afin d’automatiser l’exécution des processus métier, les entreprises s’appuient sur une solution BPM qui fournit un composant essentiel: le moteur BPM.

Le moteur BPM gérera le cycle de vie complet de toutes les instances de processus lancées à partir d’un modèle de processus métier. Comme nous pouvons avoir des instances de processus de longue durée (de quelques heures à plusieurs années), le moteur BPM doit fournir trois fonctionnalités principales: la persistance, la planification et le contrôle de version.

PERSISTANCE

Le moteur enregistre l’état actuel de toutes les instances de processus en cours et assure le suivi de toutes les activités exécutées (qui a fait quoi et quand).

PLANIFICATION

Le modèle de processus métier peut inclure des mécanismes de lancement d’événements afin de mettre en œuvre toutes les caractéristiques de temps et de durée du processus (délai légal, notifications, ...). Par conséquent, il doit y avoir une fonction de planification permettant au moteur BPM de devenir actif dès que quelque chose doit être effectué.

CONTRÔLE DE VERSION

Chaque instance de processus a été lancée à un certain moment, mais après cela, des mises à jour peuvent être déployées sur le modèle. Ensuite, nous devons répondre à la question suivante : comment traiter les « anciennes » instances de processus concernant les versions plus récentes du modèle ? De nombreux moteurs BPM proposent un mécanisme de contrôle de version et des outils pour faciliter la migration des instances de processus.

QUELLES SONT LES AUTRES FONCTIONNALITÉS GÉNÉRALEMENT REQUISES?

Afin d’exploiter pleinement le potentiel de l’automatisation des processus, nous considérons que d’autres aspects doivent être pris en compte, comme le montre ce qui suit:

BUSINESS USER INTERACTION

Comme de nombreux processus impliqueront des utilisateurs finaux par le biais de tâches accomplies par des humains, il est essentiel d’avoir un point de référence unique pour la gestion des tâches (quelles activités peuvent être exécutées et par qui en fonction des rôles associés à chaque utilisateur). Si la plupart des solutions BPM proposent une application par défaut pour la gestion des listes de tâches, la plupart des clients souhaitent disposer d’une application frontale dédiée à laquelle d’autres fonctions peuvent être intégrées (accès aux documents dans une solution ECM, par exemple).

BUSINESS MONITORING

Afin d’avoir une vision globale de toutes les instances de processus en cours mais aussi d’analyser globalement l’efficacité de l’automatisation des processus, il convient de définir un lieu où toutes les mesures liées à ces exécutions peuvent être regroupées dans des tableaux de bord et des rapports. C’est là que nous calculons généralement les KPI (Key Performance Indicators).

IT MONITORING

Le service des opérations doit disposer d’un outil permettant d’obtenir toutes les informations pertinentes en cas de problèmes techniques. Après avoir reçu une alerte concernant un problème spécifique (un appel à un service principal a échoué, par exemple), l’outil doit prendre en charge l’analyse des erreurs pour comprendre le problème et, enfin, le résoudre.

NOS PARTENAIRES TECHNOLOGIQUES

Nous avons des partenariats solides avec les principaux éditeurs de solutions dans le domaine du BPM:

POURQUOI NOUS SOMMES VOTRE PARTENAIRE BPM

Nous avons acquis un savoir-faire dans le domaine du BPM grâce à des projets réussis et sommes passés maîtres dans l’art de mener des projets BPM innovants, de l’entreprise à la technologie. Nous pouvons fournir les atouts suivants:

  • Le savoir-faire d’un analyste commercial afin de recueillir les exigences commerciales et de saisir la structure de processus grâce à une modélisation de pointe.
  • La mise en place de l’automatisation des processus grâce à un partenariat solide avec les principaux acteurs dans le domaine du BPM.
Avez-vous des questions?

Jean-François Gonguet, Head of CoP Workautomation, se réjouit de votre contact!
Téléphone: +41 58 520 98 00

Conseil de lecture

Découvrez dès maintenant une version en avant-première du livre «Practical Process Automation» publié par Bernd Ruecker, cofondateur et technologue en chef de Camunda.

Savoir plus

  • adesso.ch
  • Impulsions
  • Business Process Management

Sauvegarder cette page. Supprimer cette page.