CoP Workautomation

Business Process Management

Business processes are the DNA of every company: a business process coordinates the behaviour of people, systems, and information to produce business outcomes in support of a business strategy. Processes are really everywhere. A successful digital transformation requires digital process automation. Companies start this journey for many reasons: existing processes might be too inefficient, too slow or very often simply not flexible enough to support new business models.

BPM (Business Process Management) is a discipline that uses various methods to discover, model, analyse, measure, improve and optimize business processes.

  • Process automation helps organisations to increase their productivity, to bring more flexibility and to maximise traceability and auditability (compliance).
  • It provides a structured and unique point for human interactions and reduces errors.
  • BPM is key to align IT investments to business strategy.

What are the key concepts of BPM?

The collaboration of business stakeholders and IT professionals is crucial for the success of modern enterprises. Business stakeholders understand the market, the business value delivered by the company and the strategy. They can channel all of that into requirements, features and priorities. On the other hand, IT is aware of technical constraints, existing applications and organization.

From the business perspective, the Business Process Model reacts to a business events and produces a business outcome, after having followed a number of activities that involve humans and systems.

From the IT perspective, the Business Process Model will be the execution model followed at runtime and it will call different services in order to interact with IT applications. This delegation can rely on microservices, IoT components and robotic processing automation (RPA).

Core capabilities provided by a BPM engine

In order to automate business process execution, companies rely on a BPM solution which provides a core component: the BPM engine.

The BPM engine will manage the full lifecycle of all the process instances initiated from a Business Process Model. As we can have long running process instances (from hours to years), the BPM engine has to provide three main capabilities: persistence, scheduling and versioning.

Persistence:

the engine stores the current state of all the running process instances and keeps track on all the executed activities (who did what and when).

Scheduling:

the Business Process Model can include event throwing mechanisms in order to implement all time and duration characteristics of the process (legal delay, notifications, …). Therefore, there must be a scheduling feature that allows the BPM engine to become active whenever something needs to be done.

Versioning:

each process instance has been started at a certain time but after that, updates can be deployed on the model. Then, we have to answer the following question: how to handle “old” process instances regarding newer versions of the model. Many BPM engines propose a versioning mechanism and some tooling to help in process instance migration.

Business Process Model

What additional capabilities are usually needed?

In order to leverage the full potential of process automation, we consider that some others topics need to be addressed, as depicted in the following picture:

Business user interaction

As many processes will involve end users through human tasks, it’s crucial to have a single point of reference for tasks management (what activities can be claimed, by who depending on the roles associated within each user). If most of the BPM solutions propose a standard application for tasklist management, most of the customers want to have a dedicated frontend application where other functions can be embedded (access to documents in an ECM solution for example).

Business monitoring

In order to have a global view on all the running process instances but also to analyze globally how efficient the process automation is, you need to have a place where all the metrics related to these executions can be aggregated in dashboards and reports. This is the place where we will typically compute KPIs (Key Performance Indicators).

IT monitoring

Operations need to have a tool to have all the relevant information in case of technical problems. After receiving an alert about a specific issue (a call to a backend service failed, for instance), the tool needs to support root cause analysis to understand the problem and then, finally, fixing the issue.

Our technology partners

We have strong partnerships with the main solution editors in the BPM area:

Why we are your BPM partner

We have built BPM expertise through successful projects and are masters in delivering innovative BPM projects from business to technology. We can provide:

  • Business analyst expertise in order to gather business requirements and capture the process structure through a best-of-the-art modelling.
  • Process automation delivery through a strong partnership with main actors in the BPM area.
Do you have any questions?

Jean-François Gonguet, Head of CoP Workautomation, looks forward to your contact!
Phone +41 58 520 98 00

adesso
Reading tip

Explore a preview version of the book "Practical Process Automation" by the Co-Founder and Chief Technologist of Camunda, Bernd Ruecker, right now.

Read more

  • adesso.ch
  • Impulses
  • Business Process Management

Save this page. Remove this page.

CoP Workautomation

Business Process Management

Geschäftsprozesse sind die DNA eines Unternehmens: Ein Geschäftsprozess koordiniert das Verhalten von Menschen, Systemen und Informationen, um in Einklang mit einer Geschäftsstrategie ein geschäftliches Ziel zu erreichen. Prozesse sind allgegenwärtig – konsequenterweise erfordert eine erfolgreiche digitale Transformation die Automatisierung digitaler Prozesse. Unternehmen beschreiten diesen Weg aus vielen Gründen: Häufig sind bestehende Prozesse einfach zu ineffizient, zu langsam oder nicht flexibel genug, um neue Geschäftsmodelle zu unterstützen.

BPM (Business Process Management) ist eine Disziplin, die verschiedene Methoden anwendet, um Geschäftsprozesse zu vermessen, zu modellieren, zu analysieren und zu optimieren.

  • Prozessautomatisierung hilft Organisationen, ihre Produktivität zu steigern, mehr Flexibilität zu erreichen und die Rückverfolgbarkeit und Auditierbarkeit (Compliance) zu maximieren.
  • Sie bietet einen strukturierten und einzigartigen Ansatz für menschliche Interaktionen und reduziert gleichzeitig Fehler.
  • BPM ist der Schlüssel, um IT-Investitionen an der Geschäftsstrategie auszurichten.

WAS SIND DIE SCHLÜSSELKONZEPTE VON BPM?

Die Zusammenarbeit von Business-Stakeholdern und IT-Experten ist entscheidend für den Erfolg moderner Unternehmen. Business-Stakeholder verstehen den Markt, den vom Unternehmen erbrachten Geschäftswert und die Strategie. Sie können all das in Anforderungen, Funktionalität und Prioritäten kanalisieren. Auf der anderen Seite ist die IT mit den technischen Einschränkungen, der bestehenden Anwendungslandschaft und der Organisationsstruktur vertraut.

Aus geschäftlicher Sicht reagiert BPM auf ein geschäftliches Ereignis und erzeugt ein Ergebnis, nachdem es eine Reihe von Aktivitäten ausgeführt hat, an denen Menschen und Systeme beteiligt sind.

Aus IT-Sicht wird BPM das Ausführungsmodell sein, dem zur Laufzeit gefolgt wird und das verschiedene Dienste aufruft, um mit IT-Anwendungen zu interagieren. Diese Delegation kann sich auf Microservices, IoT-Komponenten und Robotic Process Automation (RPA) stützen.

KERNFUNKTIONEN EINER BPM-ENGINE

Um die Ausführung von Geschäftsprozessen zu automatisieren, setzen Unternehmen auf eine BPM-Lösung, die eine Kernkomponente bereitstellt: die BPM-Engine.

Die BPM-Engine verwaltet den gesamten Lebenszyklus aller Prozessinstanzen, die von einem Geschäftsprozessmodell initiiert werden. Da es sich dabei um lange laufende Prozessinstanzen handeln kann (von Stunden bis Jahren), muss die BPM-Engine drei Hauptfunktionen bieten: Persistenz, Scheduling und Versionierung.

PERSISTENZ

Die Engine speichert den aktuellen Zustand aller laufenden Prozessinstanzen und behält den Überblick über alle ausgeführten Aktivitäten (wer hat was wann getan).

SCHEDULING

Das Geschäftsprozessmodell kann Mechanismen zur Ereignisauslösung umfassen, um alle Zeit- und Dauermerkmale des Prozesses zu implementieren (rechtliche Verzögerung, Benachrichtigungen ...). Deshalb muss es eine Scheduling-Funktion geben, die es der BPM-Engine ermöglicht, immer dann aktiv zu werden, wenn eine Aktion erforderlich ist.

VERSIONIERUNG

Jede Prozessinstanz wird zu einem bestimmten Zeitpunkt gestartet; anschliessend können jedoch Updates für das Modell bereitgestellt werden. Dann müssen wir die Frage beantworten, wie man „alte“ Prozessinstanzen in Bezug auf neuere Versionen des Modells behandelt. Viele BPM-Engines bieten einen Versionierungsmechanismus und einige Tools an, die bei der Migration von Prozessinstanzen hilfreich sind.

WELCHE ZUSÄTZLICHE FUNKTONALITÄT WIRD IN DER REGEL BENÖTIGT?

Um das volle Potenzial der Prozessautomatisierung auszuschöpfen, müssen unserer Meinung nach noch einige andere Aspekte berücksichtigt werden, wie folgende Abbildung zeigt:

BUSINESS USER INTERACTION

Da an vielen Prozessen menschliche Endanwender beteiligt sind, ist es entscheidend, einen zentralen Bezugspunkt zur Aufgabenverwaltung zu haben (welche Aktivitäten können von wem beansprucht werden, abhängig von den Rollen, die den einzelnen Anwendern zugeordnet sind). Während die meisten BPM-Lösungen über eine Standardanwendung für das Tasklist Management verfügen, wünschen sich die meisten Kunden eine eigene Frontend-Anwendung, in die andere Funktionen eingebettet werden können (z. B. Zugriff auf Dokumente in einer ECM-Lösung).

BUSINESS MONITORING

Um einen globalen Überblick über alle laufenden Prozessinstanzen zu erhalten, aber auch um auf globaler Ebene die Effizienz der Prozessautomatisierung zu analysieren, benötigen Sie einen Ort, an dem alle Metriken zu ausgeführten Instanzen in Dashboards und Berichten aggregiert werden können. Dort werden dann typischerweise die KPIs (Key Performance Indicators) berechnet.

IT MONITORING

Betriebsteam benötigen ein Tool, um bei technischen Problemen alle relevanten Infos zur Hand zu haben. Dieses Tool dient dazu, im Sinne einer Ursachenanalyse nach Erhalt einer Warnung zu einem Problem (z. B. fehlgeschlagener Aufruf eines Backend-Dienstes) den Sachverhalt zu erfassen und nach Lösungen zu suchen.

UNSERE TECHNOLOGIEPARTNER

Wir pflegen enge Partnerschaften mit den führenden Lösungsentwicklern im BPM-Bereich:

DARUM SIND WIR IHR BPM-PARTNER

Wir haben BPM-Expertise durch erfolgreiche Projekte aufgebaut und sind Meister in der Umsetzung innovativer BPM-Projekte von der Business- bis zur Technologieebene. Wir bieten:

  • Expertise für Business-Analysen zur Ermittlung der Geschäftsanforderungen und Erfassung der Prozessstruktur durch eine moderne Modellierung.
  • Bereitstellung von Prozessautomatisierung durch eine starke Partnerschaft mit führenden Akteuren im BPM-Segment.
Sie haben Fragen?

Jean-François Gonguet, Head of CoP Workautomation, freut sich auf Ihre Kontaktaufnahme!
Tel +41 58 520 98 00

Lesetipp

Werfen Sie einen Blick in das Buch „Practical Process Automation“ des Mitbegründers und Cheftechnologen von Camunda, Bernd Rücker.

Mehr erfahren

  • adesso.ch
  • Impulse
  • Business Process Management

Diese Seite speichern. Diese Seite entfernen.